OSM Governance

The OSM governance structure is made up of a Leadership Group, an End User Advisory Group, a Technical Steering Committee, Module Development Groups and various Task Forces.

Leadership Group (LG)

The role of the OSM Leadership Group is to set the policies of the project, to make administrative decisions and to guarantee vendor-neutrality. The members of the Leadership Group coordinate marketing efforts together with the Marketing Task Force and act as the main external representatives for OSM.

Francisco Javier Ramón - Chair

Francisco joined Telefónica Group in 2000 and became Head of IP Network Technologies R&D in 2008. In 2010, he was named Head of the Network Virtualisation Initiative in GCTO, in charge of developing network virtualisation use cases for Telefónica and responsible the unit released OpenMANO as the first open source MANO stack focused on resource orchestration. During the last 3 years he has chaired 2 different groups in ETSI NFV ISG and has been in charge of their experimental activities and PoC Framework. Francisco holds a Master in Telecommunications Engineering from ETSIT of Málaga (Spain) and a Master's Degree in Economics at UNED (Spain). Author of 8 patents and numerous papers in the fields of network virtualisation, traffic analysis, quality of experience, network Planning, and Internet of the Future, he’s also a member of the program committees of several national and international conferences.

Andy Reid - Vice-Chair

Andy is Chief Researcher, Network Services in BT’s Research and Innovation Division, responsible for BT’s NFV architecture and a significant contributor to the ETSI NFV ISG. He is currently working in the 7th FP project TRILOGY2. Andy has developed expertise in a wide variety of engineering and economic modelling techniques and has been a major contributor over many years to functional modelling of transport networks starting with the first functional models of SONET/SDH. He also has expertise in optimization techniques and associated modelling with particular focus on interactions between optimization domains such as inter-layer problems. In addition, he is also expert in the micro-economic models (another form of optimisation problem) used in assessment of market boundaries and market power for the purposes of regulation. He has provided witness statements to the UK Competition Appeal Tribunal on both technical and micro-economics matters. Andy holds a BSc in Electrical Engineering and Microelectronics.

Pål Grønsund - Vice-Chair

Pål joined Telenor ASA in 2007 now holding a senior research scientist position, mainly focusing on NFV, SDN, Orchestration and Hybrid Clouds. He has experience with radio access and core network technologies including 3GPP, WiMAX, WiFi, cognitive radio technologies and Cloud-RAN. Pål has been working on virtualization of network and IT functions since 2008, also working with open source software solutions in both the mobile radio and core network domains as well as on the virtualization platform side. Since 2013 he has been fully focused on NFV and SDN while working in research, technology strategy and technology execution divisions. As a researcher he has been involved in several EU funded research projects and is currently involved in 5G Exchange (5GEx) focusing on cross-domain orchestration of services. His standardization experience includes being involved in ETSI NFV ISG and ETSI RRS (Reconfigurable Radio Systems). Pål holds a PhD in Informatics from the University of Oslo (UiO), Norway and has been a Visiting Researcher at the Institute of Electrical Engineering at University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA).

Technical Steering Commitee (TSC)

The role of the Technical Steering Committee is to coordinate the project’s technical activities.

Vanessa Little

Vanessa Little - TSC Chair

With over 25 years’ experience in various roles in network and system architecture, mobile video system architecture and governance in both telco and retail sectors, Van has developed a diverse toolset. Having worked as everything from UNIX sysadmin to Chief Technical Officer with a number of leadership roles in between, Van has contributed to technologies from mobile, enterprise data centre, multi-national networks and beyond. Now at VMware as the Sr. Manager - Global NFV Ecosystem Architecture Van is focused on leading integrated architectures that integrate all of the NFV partners across the globe in useful NFV solutions that solve for specific problems. This role has her speaking at conferences around the world, and spreading the word about the strength of the NFV Ecosystem.
Mark Shuttleworth

Mark Shuttleworth - TSC Member

Mark Shuttleworth is the founder of Ubuntu Operating System. He’s an entrepreneur and became the 1st citizen of an independent African country who travelled into space. Mark founded Thawte in 1996, the Internet commerce security company and in 2000, the HBD, an investment company, and created the Shuttleworth Foundation in order to fund the innovative leaders in the society with combination of fellowships and some investments. Mark founded Canonical Ltd. where he started as CEO and in 2013 provided leadership for Ubuntu operating system for software development purposes. He is now in charge of product design at Canonical. He is involved in various standardization groups in ETSI.
Gerardo García

Gerardo García - TSC Member

Gerardo García is Technology Expert in Telefónica Research and Development. At present he is working for Telefónica’s Global CTO Unit in the Network Virtualisation initiative, where he is involved on different work areas related to Network Function Virtualisation (NFV), ranging from development activities and VNF testing in Telefónica’s NFV Reference Lab to prototyping for demos and other dissemination activities. Gerardo has been technically involved in the NFV ecosystem from its birth, contributing to the ETSI NFV ISG from the very beginning, where he has been the rapporteur of the ETSI specification “NFV Performance & Portability Best Practises”, elaborated during NFV Phase 1. He is also co-author of over 20 research papers related to traffic measurements, routing, network QoS, P2P and content-aware networks.
Jose Miguel Guzmán

Jose Miguel Guzmán - TSC Member

José Miguel Guzmán (JM) is a Electrical and Software Engineer, working for the last 20 years in the Telecom, Networking and Content distribution industry. He has held technical and executive positions in ENTEL Chile, Google Inc and Whitestack. For years, he has evangelized about the introduction of open source software in the mission critical functions, a vision that is fully aligned with the NFV efforts of the industry. At Whitestack he is leading efforts to accelerate adoption of virtualized and software-defined solutions in production networks.
Felipe Vicens

Felipe Vicens - TSC Member

Felipe Vicens is a Senior Telecom Engineering focused on SDN/NFV with over ten years of experience in networking, virtualization and cloud architectures. In the last four years, He has been contributing to the development of 5G networks. Passionate about opensource initiatives and contributor of ETSI Open Source Mano (OSM), as well as SONATA NFV. He is interested in the evolution of cloud-native for telco providers and new network architectures.



Andy Reid

Andy Reid

EUAG Chair

The End User Advisory Group (EUAG) produces end user recommendations, in the form of feature requests and use cases, to the TSC.
Mona Hrapkowicz

Mona Hrapkowicz


The Marketing and Communications Task Force (MARCOM TF) coordinates OSM marketing and dissemination activities.
Gianpietro Lavado

Gianpietro Lavado

VNF On-boarding TF Chair

The VNF On-boarding Task Force (VNF-ONB TF) coordinates VNF on-boarding activities and documentation in OSM